It’s Official, You Can’t Use A Handheld Cell Phone While Driving In Maine
The new law was signed just yesterday. Man, the cops are going to have a field day with this.
Maine Governor Janet Mills has now signed An Act To Prohibit the Use of Handheld Phones and Devices While Driving. The law will take effect 90 days after the Legislature adjourns. Once it does, you cannot hold onto a cell phone and use it while driving in Maine.
This includes iPads and a variety of other devices as well. Not only does it include voice, but texts as well.
If your cell phone is sitting in the cup holder and the car itself is being fed that cell's information, then you can continue to take calls while keeping both hands on the wheel. That will continue to be acceptable.
Otherwise, fines will now range anywhere between $50 and $500.
Maybe this law will cut down on distracted driving. Maybe this law will keep vehicles coming at you in the opposite direction in their own land. Maybe it will save lives.
But, probably not right away.