The Hancock County Sheriff's Office has charged 36 teens with underage drinking at a party in Fletcher's Landing.

A report of an underage drinking party was called into the Hancock County Regional Communications Center on Saturday. Deputies responded and found a large gathering that involved several people ranging in age from 14 to 18 years of age who officials say had been drinking.

As a result, 36 teens were charged with possession of alcohol by a minor by consumption. Deputies contacted the parents of all the minors at the party. Some came to pick up their children while others gave permission for their children to get a ride with a known responsible adult.

In addition, the female responsible for the party was charged with providing a place for minors to consume alcohol. Police have not commented on whether she was a parent to any of the teens who were at the party.

An 18-year-old male was transported by Northern Light Ambulance service to Maine Coast Memorial Hospital for treatment of possible alcohol poisoning.

According to the Maine Department of Public Safety, the penalty for a first offense of possession of alcohol by a minor by consumption is a $100 to $300 fine. Providing a place for minors to consume alcohol carries a fine of up to $2,000 and a possible jail sentence of up to 364 days.

16 Stories from Maine that Turned Up in News Across the Country

Whether they were happy or historical events, sad or tragic, these 15 Maine stories grabbed the nation's attention.

The 10 Safest Places in Maine to Live Right Now

Breaking down stats relating to violent and property crime, here are the 10 places in Maine that are the safest to call home right now according to

More From WQCB Brewer Maine