Time Has Come To Register That ATV In Maine
Wardens are out there watching, so before you hit the trails make sure that you're legal to do so.
The time has come to register that ATV in Maine for the 2020-2021 season. ATV registrations in this state are good for 12 months, valid between July 1st and June 30th. It costs $46 for a Maine resident to register their ATV.
Most people will register their ATV ONLINE, the Maine Department of Inland Fisheries and Wildlife has made it pretty easy for you to do so. You can also register a boat of a snowmobile there are well. However, businesses cannot register ATVs online. Business owners can do so at their town office.
The registration fees collected help to maintain Maine's trail system and go towards supporting ATV clubs. One of the more popular ATV trails in our neck of the woods is the Downeast Sunrise Trail that runs between Ellsworth and Pembroke. This trail officially begins behind the Comfort Inn on High Street in Ellsworth, but ATV riders know to park in the Downeast Sunrise Trail parking lot on the Washington Junction Road.
Here's what you'll need when registering online:
- Registered Owner information
- Vehicle Information
- Credit/debit card (MasterCard, Visa)
- A printer in order to print a copy of your temporary registration
Remember that no child under 10 years of age can legally drive an ATV. Kids between 10 and 16 must take a course to do so. Maine State Game Wardens do monitor the trails, so become familiar with the ATV laws here in Maine. A full listing can be found HERE.