Maine State Police Extend Grace Period For Vehicle Inspections
State Police are giving motorists an extended grace period on vehicle inspections and registrations.
Maine State Police will not take any type of enforcement action for expired inspections or registrations during the COVD-19 State of Emergency. In an email sent to all Maine State Police employees, and shared on the State Police Facebook page, Lt. Bruce Scott said:
It is the opinion of the Maine State Police that when LD 2167 was signed into law on March 18th it granted an extension on all inspections until 30 days after the end of the emergency declaration. [The law] states only vehicles required to be registered must be inspected and therefore during the period of time that the emergency declaration is in effect and for 30 days after, vehicles are not required to be inspected either. Current Maine Motor Vehicle Inspection rules require vehicles be currently registered before the vehicle can be inspected therefore it would be impossible for those with expired registrations to have their vehicles inspected.
State Police add this does not exempt people from driving unsafe vehicles. Police will continue to remove dangerous vehicles that pose an immediate threat to public safety.